Why Do We Have Exams

20130508-200327.jpg

May is the cruellest month. The sun is shining, the woods are in leaf, the birds are singing. And everyone between the ages of 13 and 23 seems to be bent over their books studying for exams.

Of all the initiation rites into adulthood used by human societies, our prolonged periods of studying and examinations seem unusual. Unlike killing a lion, climbing a mountain, or drinking large quantities of the local brew, our exams are not just opportunities that you either pass or fail. They are graded: our children are set against one another. They are sorted into sheep or goats, and those that do very well are rewarded with a great deal of praise.

Are our exams useful? Surely they must be: parents clamour to get their children into schools that get good exam results, and governments agonize over exams. Here in the UK there have been repeated public arguments about our exam system; it is in a permanent state of being overhauled.

But it is all too easy to become obsessed with exam grades – they are almost too easily recorded, monitored and traded. These strings of letters are lazy substitutes for accurately assessing the real abilities and value of young human beings, the quality of a teacher, or the success of a school. My children’s teachers drum it into them that their future depends upon these exams. Some of my children’s teachers never speak to me about my children without pulling up their predicted grades on the computer first: while I am talking to them about my child, they speak only about the grades. The child has become that string of letters. Sometimes those letters are translated into real emotions: my daughter prompts a smile – she is always predicted good results – my son a scowl – his results are poor.

I speak as someone for whom exams were very useful in their day. I was good at them, they opened doors for me, they helped me escape from the limitations of the world I was raised in. But they were artificial gates to the adult world; they did not, in themselves, give me much of lasting value. Over time I have found that the things that have been most valuable were things that cannot be studied or examined. I have found, for example, that understanding how people work, and how to be kind, have been much more useful in my daily business than an ability to analyse the language of Shakespeare in a 60 minute essay.

At their worst, the exams damage the mental health of some youngsters. My son is coping badly with exams. They emphasize his weaknesses, and his teachers are convinced that he is lazy or uncooperative, when he is actually desperate. He feels he is a failure before he has even started life, and he is beginning to give up. It is in vain that I try to explain to him that, even if he failed all of these exams, his life would go on – and in fact, would probably work out as he wants, given time.

Every time a teacher says a child “must” do something, perhaps someone else should be asking why.

5 comments
  1. Joy said:

    A very thought provoking post, thank you.
    J x

    • Hope I didn’t sound too rude about teachers – I didn’t mean to be!

  2. Joy said:

    No, not at all, please don’t worry about that! 🙂
    J x

  3. tric said:

    I am so with you on the exam nonsense. I have made a decision not to send my dyslexic daughter to school next year for the nonsensical state tests they do in Aprill. What can they do? Sue me? I will have one very happy girl and one who will not feel once again she is slow or not as clever as others, even though she could buy and sell them! Looking forward to making my statement.

    • Well I’ll be cheering for you. I think there’s a lot to be said sometimes for refusing to play the system. Just wish I could do the same for my kids this year but this year’s exams are public ones that they need to get to sixth form.

Leave a Reply

LEANING INTO A NEW NORMAL

With Celenia Delsol

(Un)Diagnosed and still okay

The life and times of Bridget's family as the navigate an unexpected journey with a rare genetic syndrome

Sectioned

A blog about mental health & mental healthcare

purplepersuasion

Mental health blog by a service user with bipolar disorder. Winner of the Mark Hanson Awards for Digital Media at the Mind Media Awards 2013 and the Mood Disorder category in the 2012 This Week in Mentalists Awards.

Brotherly Love

A personal exploration of autism from a brother’s perspective, including family relationships, philosophy, neuroscience, mental health history and ethics

Side by Side

A web magazine for friends, families and advocates of mental health

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

partialinsight

Stroke and visual impairment

glosswatch

humourless mummy, cuddly feminist

L A F E I S T

truth slayer

Lily Mae Martin

Life in particular

One Pissed Off Rhino

You wouldn't fight a rhino with a fork - all you'd end up with is one bent fork and one pissed off rhino.

The Riddle Ages

An Anglo-Saxon Riddle Blog

annkilter

What ships are for...

Thunderhawk Bolt

That weird kid from school... all grown up

The Small Places

Life in particular

The Bipolar Codex

Kate McDonnell: Art, design and bipolar disorder

