Worry, worry, worry

20130627-204702.jpg

We’re great worriers in our family. I mean this: we are real champion worriers. If the thing we are worrying about manages to resolve itself, we can transfer our worry to something new in a fraction of a second. We all have the worrying skill, and just in case any of us become rusty, we are good at reminding each other to worry a bit more.

Of course worrying has been useful. You could say my husband and I have built part of our careers around it: it is partly our attention to detail, our obsessiveness, our refusal to let it rest, that has made us so successful. We are classic middle-managers, endlessly training, supervising, implementing and reporting. Worry is the defining characteristic that keeps us productive year after year in the same line of work.

We like our children to worry, if it is about the right things. “He doesn’t seem to be worrying enough about doing his revision.” we say about Duncan. “If he worried less about his appearance and more about getting to school on time…”

In fact both children are extremely good at worrying. Duncan is worrying himself sick about exams, all by himself, without any help from us. His sister, Julie, of course, is the greatest worrier of us all: she can invent completely imaginary threats to worry about. Her worries can be crippling, cutting her off from the rest of us, and making her harm herself.

The sign of a really good worrier is the ability to have more than worry on the go at once. The classic worrier has a real worry and a displacement worry. I really worry about my children, for example, but I am very good at ostensibly worrying about the bindweed in my garden. I see the same ability in my son: Duncan worried about a mock exam, but after he had sat it and been given an A grade, he started worrying that it had not been hard enough. I realised then that the exams were his displacement worry; the task now for him is to find out what his real worry is.

At home, I am experimenting with something called the worry tree. The gist of this is “If you can’t do something about it, don’t worry about it; if you can do something about it, then do it.”. You follow a short tree of questions to sort your worry into one of a few boxes. It’s like sorting laundry. Can I do something about the bindweed? Yes, I can, so write an action plan. Can I tackle it now? No, it’s raining. Make a note to do it when it’s dry.

So far, just like the laundry, no one else in the family has mastered this.

4 comments
  1. Your worry tree sounds like an excellent idea. As long as it works for you, maybe you can lead by example. …then again, that’s never worked for the laundry in my house… 😛

    • Well after 17 years my family still haven’t got the hang of the laundry, so I will be surprised (but pleased) if they master the worry tree in any less time.

  2. This sounds a bit like how I deal with worries, and if I have no other solution, I blog about it! That get’s it out of my head, at least 🙂

    • Yeah blogging is great actually – half the time, by the time I’ve worked out how to explain what I’m worried about on the blog, I realise it’s not really a problem!

Leave a Reply

LEANING INTO A NEW NORMAL

With Celenia Delsol

(Un)Diagnosed and still okay

The life and times of Bridget's family as the navigate an unexpected journey with a rare genetic syndrome

Sectioned

A blog about mental health & mental healthcare

purplepersuasion

Mental health blog by a service user with bipolar disorder. Winner of the Mark Hanson Awards for Digital Media at the Mind Media Awards 2013 and the Mood Disorder category in the 2012 This Week in Mentalists Awards.

Brotherly Love

A personal exploration of autism from a brother’s perspective, including family relationships, philosophy, neuroscience, mental health history and ethics

Side by Side

A web magazine for friends, families and advocates of mental health

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

partialinsight

Stroke and visual impairment

L A F E I S T

truth slayer

Lily Mae Martin

Life in particular

One Pissed Off Rhino

You wouldn't fight a rhino with a fork - all you'd end up with is one bent fork and one pissed off rhino.

The Riddle Ages

An Anglo-Saxon Riddle Blog

annkilter

What ships are for...

Thunderhawk Bolt

That weird kid from school... all grown up

The Small Places

Life in particular

The Bipolar Codex

Kate McDonnell: Art, design and bipolar disorder

Life in particular

